Skip to main content

JAXPORT welcomes new and returning Board members

November 19, 2013


Experienced foreign policy professional and author Nancy Soderberg has joined the JAXPORT Board of Directors following approval by the Jacksonville City Council of her appointment by Mayor Alvin Brown. Council members also approved the mayor’s reappointment of immediate past chairman James Citrano for a second term on the board. Soderberg and Citrano will each serve four-year terms.

“We thank Mayor Brown for these appointments, which offer our board fresh perspective along with longevity and continuity,” said JAXPORT Board Chairman Joe York. “Nancy’s extensive foreign policy skill and Jim’s board leadership experience and real estate know-how, combined with the strengths of our other members, ensure that we will keep this port moving forward.”

Soderberg is the President of the Connect U.S. Fund in Washington, D.C., a nongovernmental organization that leads and supports effective, collaborative advocacy with the aim of creating a just, sustainable, and peaceful world. In addition, she is a Visiting Distinguished Scholar at the University of North Florida in Jacksonville and President and CEO of Soderberg Solutions, an international consulting firm. Soderberg is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, and serves on the advisory board of the National Committee on American Foreign Policy and the Stanley Foundation.

Citrano retired in 2013 as Managing Director of the Jacksonville office of CB Richard Ellis, a position he had held since 1997. Prior to joining CB Richard Ellis, Citrano served as Vice President of Gate Riverplace at Gate Petroleum. In a real estate management career spanning almost 40 years, he has also held senior management positions with St. Johns Place Development Company, The Haskell Company and J.A. Jones Construction Company. Citrano is also a United States Marine Corps veteran.

Soderberg joins Citrano and the following officers and members of the JAXPORT Board:

  • Joe York – Chairman
  • John J. Falconetti – Treasurer
  • Dr. John Allen Newman – Secretary
  • Robert F. Spohrer – Member
  • Vacant – Member (gubernatorial appointment)

JAXPORT has an unpaid, appointed seven-member Board of Directors which provides policy guidance. Four board members are appointed by the Mayor of Jacksonville and three members are appointed by the Governor of Florida. Board members serve four-year terms and may be appointed to one additional term.

The next meeting of the JAXPORT Board of Directors is scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013.