JAXPORT Board of Directors elects new officers

Jun 22, 2015 | Press Releases

Robert F. Spohrer, Ed Fleming, Dr. John Allen Newman, James P. Citrano

The JAXPORT Board of Directors unanimously selected a new slate of officers during its regular meeting today. The following officers will each serve a one-year term starting July 1, 2015:

  • Chairman: Dr. John Allen Newman
  • Vice Chairman: Robert F. Spohrer
  • Treasurer: James P. Citrano
  • Secretary: Ed Fleming

Newman is Senior Pastor of The Sanctuary at Mt. Calvary, Spohrer is President of Spohrer & Dodd, Citrano is retired Managing Director of CBRE Group’s Jacksonville office, and Ed Fleming is retired CEO/President of Atlantic Marine Holding Co, LLC.

“This is an incredibly important time for our region and our citizens, as JAXPORT is on the verge of making an even bigger impact on employment and private sector opportunity,” said Dr. Newman. “I am honored to lead this dedicated board and provide guidance to staff as we both advance and complete several large growth projects which will so positively impact Northeast Florida’s economy and vitality.”

Other members of the 2015-2016 JAXPORT Board of Directors include immediate past chairman John Falconetti, President, The Drummond Press Inc.; Joe York, President, AT&T Florida, Puerto Rico & U.S. Virgin Islands; and Former Ambassador Nancy Soderberg, President and CEO, Soderberg Solutions.

Ambassador Soderberg will continue to serve as JAXPORT’s liaison with the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization for the upcoming year. The North Florida TPO is the independent regional transportation planning agency for Clay, Duval, Nassau and St. Johns counties.

JAXPORT’s unpaid, appointed seven-member Board of Directors provides policy guidance. Four board members are appointed by the Mayor of Jacksonville and three members are appointed by the Governor of Florida.

Download photos from today’s board meeting.

Download headshots of JAXPORT Board of Directors.